Quick and easy vegan lunch

Although I work in Boulder and vegan lunches are as easy to come by as coffee houses – I try to bring my lunch as much as possible.  Its not that I love what I make, its that I’m cheap watching my figure.  Most mornings I’m rushing around – getting the kids ready, yelling/screaming helping them put on their coats.  I’m not a morning person.  If I could change 1 thing – it would probably be to be able to wake up in the morning – oh who am I kidding – I’d like to have the world’s best metabolism or crazy determination or be the richest person alive or,  Sorry tangent.  Anyway – NOT a morning person.  I have the coffee set up and ready to go in the morning.  I NEED to eat breakfast but usually don’t get to it before I’m meeting the bus.  So, the night before – I set the coffee pot, prep the lunches and breakfasts, so when I’m screaming like a mad person calmly walking out the door – I at least have a healthy lunch/breakfast/coffee when I get into work.

Here’s a TERRIBLE photo.  This soup needs something green in it!  It tastes MUCH better than it looks (promise)
image

Yesterday’s lunch/breakfast combo:

Breakfast: Boyer’s Hazelnut coffee with SO Coconut Creamer.  (LOVE that creamer) and 2 tropical breakfast muffins (post/picture these coming soon!)

Lunch/Snacks:  Leftover kale/apple salad from this dinner.  (EVEN better left over).  Baby carrots with hummus.  Larabar and apple.  Homemade miso soup.

The miso soup was beyond simple.

Simple/Quick miso soup:

  • Julianned carrots
  • Julianned broccoli stalks
  • sliced shallots
  • Diced red pepper
  • miso paste
  • Siracha hot sauce

Saute the veggies in some coconut oil until tender.  You can do this in some vegetable broth too if you are avoiding the oil.  Add 4 cups water and 8tsp miso paste.  (Follow the instructions on your paste – mine was 1t per 1/2 cup water).  Boil for a minute or so and squirt in some Siracha.  That’s it.  Start to finish – 10 minutes because I had to chop the veggies!

**** UPDATE ****

The soup was GREAT.  Nice little spice to it.  Totally NOT filling for just lunch.  It needed some beans or tofu or something else with it – crusty bread even!  I think it was like only 30 calories because its basically broth with vegetables. 

Leave a Reply

