I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream

Well, if you don’t have a dairy allergy that is.  Or is it?  I love ice cream.  I would eat it all the time.  Since high school, I’ve been battling a dairy intolerance.  I’ve never took the time to figure out what exactly I cannot handle.  Cheese is the WORST for me, followed closely by the very best ice cream.  Seems to be the higher the fat content – the worse I can digest it.  Anyway – like every good American – Ben & Jerry’s was/is my favorite.  Chubby Hubby was the front-runner for a good 10 years.   I’d eat an entire pint in one sitting (pre-weight loss) – then would break it up into 4 servings (post-weight-loss).  Meat-Husband would finish the pint “for me” after my 1 serving in recent years – how nice.  I cannot eat it anymore.  Tears my stomach to pieces.

Youngest-child also cannot have ice cream.  What a bummer for a 4 year old, in summer.  He cannot eat ice cream.  Luckily there are some dairy-free ice cream novelties that are AMAZING, so he keeps right up with big-sister.

Anyway – back to the point of this post.  As much as I love to EAT ice cream, I love to make it too.  I have a new dairy-free ice cream book on my Mother’s Day wish list (this one here if Meat-Husband reads these posts).  I was about to buy it on Friday – but waited.  Then, of course, I couldn’t shake the NEED TO MAKE ice cream – it was 70 here that day!  So I found a recipe for vegan rocky road.  I’m not a chocolate person – really do not like anything chocolate.  (yes, that’s a whole-nother post in itself).  But – I do like rocky road ice cream.

I picked the kids up and we headed home to make this recipe.  Youngest-child loves to bake/cook/help at all times in the kitchen.  He was going to make this all. by. himself.  I toasted the pecans (he’s a bit too young to be on the stove!)  We tripled the recipe.  He put 7 frozen bananas in the food processor.  We added the cocoa and the almond milk.  We processed and processed and processed.  We learned you should NOT triple the recipe..  I took out 1/3 of the batch and make the ice cream in batches.  We finally processed all of the ice cream.  added the vanilla, marshmallows and toasted pecans.  We put it back in the freezer.   (We used normal marshmallows – non-vegan!)

The verdict?  The most AMAZING ICE CREAM EVER.  Seriously.  No lie.  Meat-Husband liked it.  Kids LOVED it.  It is just bananas people!  You must try this recipe out.  You will NOT BE SORRY!

 
image

Leave a Reply

