Hawaiian teriyaki bowl

Another Happy Herbivore winner…..  Chickpea teriyaki bowls.  Another night I happened to have all the ingredients.

I made a quick salsa:  chopped mango, canned pineapple (drained), chopped shallots and cilantro — just mixed together.  Made the brown rice and then cooked the teriyaki chick-peas.

I wasn’t sure what the family was going to think.  I had to work late that evening, so I made the dinner, grabbed a serving and headed into the home-office.  I went back for seconds and the dinner was gone.  Oldest-child ate 3 bowls, youngest ate 2.  Meat-husband added some leftover grilled steaks to their bowls (in addition to the chikpeas etc..) and he only got 1.5 helpings.  I had to make a whole extra batch to have for lunches.  This was a SURE winner in our house.

Here’s the recipe for this gem!

image

Leave a Reply

